Blue Buddha

Blue Buddha

This is the Big Buddha on Hong Kong’s Lantau Island. You have to climb 268 steps to get to the top so me and my son were taking our time enjoying the views. There was fog coming in over the mountain top and all of a sudden, I saw the sun trying vainly to peek through Buddha’s shoulders. It was one of those wish-I-had-my-tripod moments so instead, I put my white balance on tungsten and used my external flash with a tungsten gel over the head for fill to get a blue background but with the right color balance for Buddha. Needless to say, it didn’t work as the subject was too far away but I somehow like the effect it created.

We’re headed for the mountains in a bit for some vacation time and won’t be back till Sunday.  I won’t be posting any updates till Monday as I don’t think I’ll have any decent access while we’re up there so happy weekend to all and catch you later 🙂

One thought on “Blue Buddha

Leave a Reply

